An economists point of view

View previous topic View next topic Go down

An economists point of view

Post  Shadowhunter483 on Fri Feb 01, 2008 8:38 am

I am a college student currently getting a B.A in economics. After looking at the current situation and analyzing some facts, I think I might have come to a conclusion as to why the pro tour was shortened to three. I personally think that this was a bad idea as that is seems to hurt casual players like me who hope to go to a Pro tour one day.

1. In order to make money, Hasbro and wizards charges people to go to PTQs. My guess is that, this is where the bulk of the revenue of the pro tour comes from is the PTQs. The logical thought process would be to add more Pro tours, and as such add more PTQs thus netting more revenue. But since adding more pro tours would cost more as now you would have to pay for more air plane tickets and more on locations, international expenses, and the like. Also adding more pro tours may cause less people to attend PTQs as there are now more opportunities to go to a pro tour. This also goes with the new pro players club as that invites are now given right at the end of the qualifier season. This means that more players will attend the PTQs since certain players only get plane tickets for free. This causes them to go to a PTQ in order to get said plane ticket. By going they give wizards money. Since plane tickets are also expensive, with the rising cost of fuel and the hazards of air travel being more pronounced, spending less money on plane tickets would allow them to save more money in the face of diminishing profit.