Negotiation tactics

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Negotiation tactics

Post  turboeli on Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:17 am

I should preface this by saying that I am not a pro player, having only qualified for the Pro Tour twice in 1995. I have done event coverage at many Japanese Grand Prix and a Pro Tour or two and write for SCG.

If the player's union wants to get serious about getting more money back for the Pro Tour as well as increasing the amount of support for tournaments and the Magic community that Wizards provides, then the union needs to get professional.

Wizards is tightening the purse right now and attempting to raise revenue with advertising on their main site, yes. But if you are paying attention to the global financial markets, that makes sense. The Nikkei is tanking, Chinese labor markets are facing shortages, and Hasbro's bottom line isn't looking all that great.

Link

I'd suggest taking a look at this story for some of the summaries of the toy industry. (Note: The New York Times website is free but requires registration.) Hasbro is inexorably tied to the international labor market, meaning that Wizards is also linked. Wizards itself has major ties to the toymaking industry, with products like D&D Minis, Axis and Allies Minis, and others. Does higher plastics costs have anything to do with that? I would guess so. If anything, the Wizards people should be doing more to convince Hasbro management and stockholders that they need more funds to keep profitability up. And we as a community can take action to influence this.